Cher has released the first single from her upcoming Christmas album

Publish Date
Monday, 9 October 2023, 8:47AM

Cher has officially announced her festive album 'Christmas' and released the lead single, 'DJ Play A Christmas Song'.

Cher recorded all of 'Christmas' with her longtime collaborator Mark Taylor, one of the producers behind her hit song 'Believe.'

The first single 'DJ Play A Christmas Song' is all about going out clubbing during the holidays and hoping to hear Christmas music, “It’s cold outside, but it’s warm in here/ And that’s the only thing I want this year.”

You can listen to it above, and check out the full album tracklisting below!

The 'If I Could Turn Back Time' hitmaker has unveiled her first album in five years, which boasts an array of artists, including Stevie Wonder, Michael Bublé, Cyndi Lauper, Darlene Love, and most interestingly, rapper Tyga.

The 13-track album includes four new original songs, including the lead single.

‘What Christmas Means To Me’ features Stevie Wonder while ‘Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)’ features Darlene, who first recorded the song with Phil Spector and a teen Cher, on backing vocals.

Cher has also recorded a rendition of Bublé's 'Home' with the man himself.

 Sign up for Coast's weekly newsletter for exclusive prizes and to keep updated with the latest

The 77-year-old star said, “I never say this about my own records but I’m really proud of this one. It is one of the most amazing highlights of my career."

Cher also said she loved getting Motown icon Stevie involved, “Every time I hear that harmonica, I’m a teenager again. It’s a personal dream come true for me to record this song with Stevie.”

Cher and 'Rack City' hitmaker Tyga have recorded the new song ‘Drop Top Sleigh Ride’, which is produced by her boyfriend, Alexander Edwards, and Mike Crook and Ryan OG.

'True Colors' hitmaker Cyndi is featured on ‘Put A Little Holiday In Your Heart’.

The full album will arrive on October 20!

'Christmas' tracklisting:

1. DJ Play A Christmas Song
2. What Christmas Means To Me (with Stevie Wonder)
3. Run Run Rudolph
4. Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home) (with Darlene Love)
5. Angels In The Snow
6. Home (with Michael Bublé)
7. Drop Top Sleigh Ride (with Tyga)
8. Please Come Home For Christmas
9. I Like Christmas
10. Christmas Ain’t Christmas Without You
11. Santa Baby
12. Put A Little Holiday In Your Heart (with Cyndi Lauper)
13. This Will Be Our Year

- Written by Bang! Showbiz and republished here with edits and permission

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you